8 letters not in order, says Karnataka Speaker

MLAs wanting to quit can send them again: Ramesh Kumar
In another twist to the political crisis in Karnataka, Speaker K. Ramesh Kumar said on Tuesday that the resignation letters of only five of the 13 legislators from the Congress and Janata Dal (Secular), were in order.
“These five [letters] are [those] of Anand Singh, Narayana Gowda, Pratap Gouda Patil, Gopalaiah and Ramalinga Reddy,” he said.
“Since the other resignation letters were not in the prescribed format, we have sent them a reminder letter … if you wish you can submit your resignations properly,” he added.
The other eight legislators, many of whom are not in Bengaluru, are expected to return on Wednesday to re-tender their resignations in the right format.
Baig also quits
Even as the Speaker ruled on the resignations tendered by MLAs of the ruling coalition, veteran politician and suspended Congress legislator, R. Roshan Baig also submitted his resignation, taking the total from both the parties to 14 (three JD(S) and 11 Congress and two Independents). “Despite the [Assembly] session starting on Friday, I have asked Narayana Gowda, Prathapgouda Patil and Anand Singh to come for a personal hearing while Gopalaiah and Ramalinga Reddy have been asked to appear on July 15 (Monday),” said the Speaker. Mr. Ramesh Kumar said that Mr. Baig’s resignation is being examined. The Speaker also said that he will hold a public hearing in the light of complaints against resignations from the public reaching his office.
The Speaker said he would go by the book and consult seniors about the developments.
“I have to make a conscious decision. Every step I take will become history, so I can’t be committing a mistake. Future generations should not look at me like an accused,” Mr. Kumar added.
A reprieve
The Speaker’s decision could prove a reprieve for the beleaguered coalition partners — Congress and JD(S) — who have stepped up efforts to salvage the government by seeking disqualification of “rebel” legislators. Soon after the Congress Legislature Party meeting — which 20 legislators did not attend — earlier in the day, a delegation led by CLP leader Siddaramaiah and KPCC president Dinesh Gundu Rao submitted a petition to the Speaker seeking the disqualification of 12 “rebel” legislators, excluding seven time MLA Ramalinga Reddy. The party also resurrected an old disqualification case pending since February against Ramesh Jarkiholi, Mahesh Kumathalli and B. Nagendra against for violating a party whip. Mr. Ramesh Kumar said he would restart the disqualification hearing from July 11 (Thursday) and has asked the Congress to provide evidence against the three.

Source : https://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/karnataka-crisis-8-resignations-not-in-order-says-speaker/article28337677.ece

About ChinmayaIAS Academy - Current Affairs

Check Also


CONTEXT: India ranked 131 among 189 countries on the Human Development Index (HDI) for 2019, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Get Free Updates to Crack the Exam!
Subscribe to our Newsletter for free daily updates