Digi Yatra to be launched at 6 more airports

Syllabus: Infrastructure: Energy, Ports, Roads, Airports, Railways etc.


Digi Yatra facility will be launched at 6 more airports namely Mumbai, Ahmedabad, Kochi, Lucknow, Jaipur, and Guwahati airports in the month of August 2023. The implementation and installation of Digi Yatra infrastructure at these airports will take place in a phased manner.

Digi Yatra

  • It is a mobile application-based facility conceived to achieve contactless, seamless processing of passengers at airports based on Facial Recognition Technology (FRT).
  • It helps travelers pass through various checkpoints at the airports through paperless and contactless processing using facial features to validate their identity and travel details.

The Implementation

  • Minister of Civil Aviation and Steel Shri Jyotiraditya on December 1, 2022, at three airports, New Delhi, Varanasi, and Bengaluru, Digi Yatra has been implemented at four more airports, Vijayawada, Pune, Hyderabad, and Kolkata increasing the number of Digi Yatra airports to seven.
  • With the addition of the aforementioned six airports, the total number of Digi Yatra-enabled airports will become thirteen.

About ChinmayaIAS Academy - Current Affairs

Check Also


Context:   Prime Minister will lay the foundation stone for the redevelopment of 508 railway stations …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Free Updates to Crack the Exam!
Subscribe to our Newsletter for free daily updates