EC sets month-long poll schedule for 5 States

The Election Commission on Saturday announced that the Assembly elections in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana will be held from November 12 to December 7. The results for all the five States will be declared on December 11. The model code of conduct came into effect in four States — Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram and Rajasthan — immediately. The guidelines are already in place in Telangana, as directed by the Commission on September 27, following the premature dissolution of the Assembly. Chhattisgarh goes to the polls first, with voting scheduled in two phases. The 18 Naxal-affected constituencies in the southern part of the State will go to the polls on November 12, while 72 other constituencies will be covered in the second phase on November 20, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) O.P. Rawat said. In Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram, the elections will be conducted on a single day — November 28. Finally, Rajasthan and Telangana will hold elections on December 7, also on a single day. Teams from the Election Commission will visit Mizoram and Telangana within the next 15 days to review the preparedness. The CEC refused to comment on allegations by the Congress that it had delayed the announcement of schedules due to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s public rally in Rajasthan earlier in the day.

Source :

About ChinmayaIAS Academy - Current Affairs

Check Also


CONTEXT: India ranked 131 among 189 countries on the Human Development Index (HDI) for 2019, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Get Free Updates to Crack the Exam!
Subscribe to our Newsletter for free daily updates