Kumaraswamy govt. loses trust vote

Confidence motion moved by the Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) coalition is defeated by 6 votes
The 14-month-old Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) government in Karnataka collapsed on Tuesday, with Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy losing the confidence motion in the Assembly by six votes. He later tendered his resignation to Governor Vajubhai Vala.
With the BJP deciding to stake a claim to form the government, the return of its State president B.S. Yeddyurappa as the Chief Minister is imminent.
Heated debate
The motion was put to vote late in the evening, six days after Mr. Kumaraswamy moved it and after a protracted and heated debate on the issue of 15 resignations from the ruling parties, allegedly engineered by the BJP. Though the outgoing Chief Minister was aware that the numbers were stacked against him, he said he “would not run away” from the House and resign, but put the motion to vote. As Mr. Yeddyurappa also demanded that there be a division of vote, Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar counted the votes row by row. While 99 MLAs expressed confidence in the Kumaraswamy-led government, 105 opposed the motion. He announced that the motion was defeated, and adjourned the House sine die . In a House of 225 MLAs (including one nominated), 20 MLAs were not present at the time of voting. They were the 15 rebel MLAs who have submitted their resignations— 12 from the Congress and 3 from the JD(S) — 2 Congress MLAs who abstained for health reasons, 2 Independents and the lone BSP MLA.
A jubilant Mr. Yeddyurappa called the fall of the government a “victory of democracy.”

Source : https://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/kumaraswamy-govt-loses-trust-vote/article28694502.ece

About ChinmayaIAS Academy - Current Affairs

Check Also

‘Can’t intervene in Pak. denial of airspace to PM’

“The United Nations and other multilateral agencies … are neither designed nor empowered to intervene …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *