LS Speaker suspends 21 members for four days

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Thursday suspended 21 members of the Lower House for four days for creating a ruckus in the House. They included MPs from the TDP, AIADMK and an unattached YSR Congress leader. The action was taken under Rule 374 A of the Lok Sabha, meaning they cannot attend the remaining days of the session, which concludes on January 8.Ms. Mahajan adjourned the House for the day soon after 2 pm. These suspensions came on the back of suspensions of 24 AIADMK members on Wednesday, taking the number of members suspended on two consecutive days to 45.While the AIADMK has 37 members in the Lok Sabha, the TDP has 15. In February, 2014, the then Speaker Meira Kumar had suspended 18 MPs from Andhra Pradesh following repeated protests in the House.Proceedings in the Lok Sabha during the winter session that commenced on December 11 have been repeatedly stalled due to protests by AIADMK and TDP members over a proposed dam on the Cauvery and special status to Andhra Pradesh, respectively.

Source :

About sree nivas

Check Also

Assent has been given by President toNew Criminal Justice Bills

  Following their approval by Parliament last week, the three new criminal justice bills got …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Free Updates to Crack the Exam!
Subscribe to our Newsletter for free daily updates