• Recently, the President of India presented the Padma awards to 119 recipients for the year 2020 at Rashtrapati Bhavan.
  • The list comprises 7 Padma Vibhushans, 10 Padma Bhushans and 102 Padma Shri awards.

Important points:

  • The Padma Awards are announced annually on Republic Day (26th January).
  • It was instituted in 1954, except for brief interruption (suspended) during the years 1978 and 1979 and 1993 to 1997.
  • It is one of the highest civilian honours of India. A higher category of Padma award can be conferred on a person only where a period of at least five years has elapsed since conferment of the earlier Padma award.
  • It seeks to recognize achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved.

The Awards are given in three categories:

  1. Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service),
  2. Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher-order) and
  3. Padma Shri (distinguished service).

Bharat Ratna

  • Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award of the country. It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavour.
  • It is treated on a different footing from Padma Award. The recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President of India. No formal recommendations for Bharat Ratna are necessary.
  • The number of Bharat Ratna Awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year. Government has conferred Bharat Ratna Award on 45 persons till date.


About ChinmayaIAS Academy - Current Affairs

Check Also

Zoning of flood plains

Why in news: Punjab has been reeling under floods for well over a month now and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Free Updates to Crack the Exam!
Subscribe to our Newsletter for free daily updates