• Ministry of Information and Broadcasting has today announced that the DadasahebPhalke Award for the year 2020 will be accorded to legendary actress Ms Asha Parekh
  • The award will be presented at the National Film Award ceremony in New Delhi.
  • Announcing the decision Union Minister Shri Anurag Thakur said “I am honoured to announce that the DadasahebPhalke Selection Jury has decided to recognise& award Ms Asha Parekh ji for her exemplary lifetime contribution to Indian Cinema.”
  • The Minister also announced that the 68th National Film Awards will be held on 30th September, 2022 and will be presided over by President of India SmtDroupadiMurmu.
  • Ms Asha Parekh is a renowned film actress, director and producer and an accomplished Indian classical dancer. Starting her career as a child actor she made her debut as lead heroine in Dil Deke Dekho and has gone on to act in over 95 movies.
  • She has acted in celebrated films like Kati Patang, TeesriManzil, Love in Tokyo, AyaSaawanJhoomKe, Aan Milo Sajna, MeraGaonMeraDesh.
  • Ms Asha Parekh was conferred the Padma Shri in 1992.
  • She has also served as the head of Central Board for Film Certification from 1998-2001.
    Shri Anurag Thakur also announced that the decision to confer the award to Ms Parekh was taken by a jury of five members.

The jury for the selection of 52nd DadasahebPhalke award consisted of five members from the film industry:

  1. Ms Asha Bhosle
  2. MsHemaMalini
  3. Ms Poonam Dhillon
  4. Shri T. S. Nagabharana
  5. Shri Udit Narayan


About ChinmayaIAS Academy - Current Affairs

Check Also


The country has 18 percent of the world’s population, but only 4 percent of its …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Free Updates to Crack the Exam!
Subscribe to our Newsletter for free daily updates