• Former Brazilian President Dilma Rousseff has been unanimously elected as the head of New Development Bank (NDB).
  • The New Development Bank (NDB) was formerly referred to as the BRICS Development Bank.
  • It is a multilateral development bank established by the BRICS countries (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa).
  • The Agreement on the New Development Bank entered into force in July 2015, with the official declaration of all five states that have signed it.


  • The Bank shall support public or private projects through loans, guarantees, equity participation and other financial instruments.
  • The NDB shall cooperate with international organizations and other financial entities, and provide technical assistance for projects to be supported by the Bank.


  • The initial authorized capital of the bank is $100 billion divided into 1 million shares having a par value of $100,000 each.
  • The initial subscribed capital of the bank was equally distributed among the founding members – Brazil, Russia, India, People’s Republic of China, South Africa.

Voting Powers:

Every member will have one vote and that no member would have any veto powers.


  1. Shanghai, China.

Regional Offices:

  1. Johannesburg, South Africa
  2. São Paulo, Brazil
  3. GIFT City, India
  4. Moscow, Russia

Main organs of the bank are:

  1. Board of Governors
  2. Board of Directors
  3. President and Vice-Presidents

President and Vice President:

  • The NDB President is elected on a rotational basis from one of the founding members.
  • There are four Vice Presidents from each of the other four founding members.
  • V. Kamath, from India, is the first elected president of the NDB.



About sree nivas

Check Also

Biosphere Reserve

  Biodiversity refers to the variety of living species on Earth, including plants, animals, bacteria, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Free Updates to Crack the Exam!
Subscribe to our Newsletter for free daily updates