• During the recent meeting of Quad members in New Delhi, the Foreign Ministers of the Quad countries called for lasting peace in Ukraine and, in an indirect reference to the Russian invasion, underlined respect for territorial sovereignty and integrity.
  • They also addressed China’s aggressive behavior in the Indo-Pacific and its attempts to block the UN designation of terrorists.
  • It was decided to form a Quad Working Group on Counter-Terrorism and to engage more closely with the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA), a grouping of 23 members that include India and Australia.
  • Quad is the grouping of four democracies –India, Australia, the US, and Japan. All four nations find a common ground of being democratic nations and also support the common interest of unhindered maritime trade and security.
  • It aims to ensure and support a “free, open and prosperous” Indo-Pacific region. The idea of Quad was first mooted by Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in 2007.
  • In 2017, India, Australia, the US and Japan, came together and formed this “quadrilateral” coalition.
  • The next Quad Leaders’ Summit will be hosted by Australia in 2023.


About sree nivas

Check Also

Human Rights during War

Human Rights during the war Most of the gravest human rights violations are committed during …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Free Updates to Crack the Exam!
Subscribe to our Newsletter for free daily updates