Karnataka’s rebel MLAs need not attend House: SC

Says Speaker can decide on resignations ‘when appropriate’ The Supreme Court on Wednesday gave the 15 dissident MLAs from Karnataka complete freedom to opt out of the ongoing Assembly session even as it acknowledged the Speaker’s discretion to decide on their resignations as and when he considers it appropriate. A …

Read More »

Karnataka CM to seek trust vote on Thursday

Govt. facing a threat of withdrawal of support by 18 MLAs The political uncertainty in Karnataka is headed for a climax with Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy set to face a trust vote on Thursday. Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar informed the House on Monday that Mr. Kumaraswamy would move the …

Read More »

Law Commission to be formed soon

Proposal to be placed before the Union Cabinet in the next few days With the country left without a Law Commission since September 2018, the Law Ministry has initiated the process of setting up the body which gives advice to the government on complex legal issues. The three-year term of …

Read More »

Govt. in a spot over Bill seeking quota in RS

YSR Congress MP stages walkout The government on Friday was caught in an embarrassing position as the entire Opposition backed YSR Congress MP Vijaya Sai Reddy’s private member’s Bill seeking reservations for the Other Backward Classes in the Rajya Sabha and the Assemblies on the lines of the reservations available …

Read More »

First-timers brought to the fore in Lok Sabha

Biggest change is in the fact that parliamentary responsibilities and positions in parties are being delegated to new MPs The 17th Lok Sabha may not have topped the figure of the previous one for first-term MPs, with 313 in 2014 compared to the 267 now, but in terms of prominence …

Read More »

Cannot be pushed into decision: Speaker tells SC

The court had fixed the July 12 hearing to be apprised of the Speaker’s decision on the resignations. In his application, the Speaker criticised the MLAs for casting aspersions on his dignity. The battle for power in Karnataka reached the Supreme Court first on July 9 when the Congress and …

Read More »

Six candidates elected unopposed as Rajya Sabha MPs

They include MDMK leader Vaiko, PMK leader Anbumani; AIADMK front’s strength in House goes to 10 MDMK founder Vaiko, PMK leader Anbumani Ramadoss and two candidates each from the AIADMK and the DMK were elected unopposed as Rajya Sabha members from Tamil Nadu on Thursday. The new AIADMK Rajya Sabha …

Read More »

Congress petitions Speaker on disqualification

Congress petitioned Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar seeking disqualification of eight rebel Congress MLAs for defection on Thursday. Three days ago, the Congress had revived an old petition to disqualify two MLAs — Ramesh Jarkiholi and Mahesh Kumthalli. However, the party is yet to seek disqualification of three other rebel …

Read More »
Get Free Updates to Crack the Exam!
Subscribe to our Newsletter for free daily updates