Functions and Responsibilities of the Union and the States



Meghalaya, Manipur and Tripura celebrate their Statehood Day on 21 January.


  • January 21, 2021 marks the 49th formation day of the north-eastern states of Meghalaya, Manipur and Tripura.
  • The former princely states of Tripura and Manipur were blended into the Indian Union in October 1949 and became full states on January 21, 1972.
  • Meghalaya, which was part of Assam, received its own full statehood under the North Eastern Region (Re-Organisation) Act, 1971.
  • Before the north-eastern region turned into seven sisters with statehood of Tripura, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland, the regional composition of the North East comprised Assam plains from the old Assam Province, the hill districts, and the North Eastern Frontier Tracts (NEFT) of the North-Eastern borderland.
  • Manipur and Tripura merged into India in 1949 (as Part C states) and were granted the status of Union Territories in 1956.
  • Within Assam, Meghalaya was given the status of an autonomous state through the Assam Reorganisation (Meghalaya) Act 1969, according to the sixth schedule of the Indian Constitution.
  • It was finally, in 1972 that Tripura, Meghalaya and Manipur were granted full statehood by the North East Reorganisation Act of 1971.



About ChinmayaIAS Academy - Current Affairs

Check Also


Recently, India’s Prime Minister (PM) and the PM of the Netherlands held a Virtual Summit. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Free Updates to Crack the Exam!
Subscribe to our Newsletter for free daily updates