• The Prime Minister of India unveiled the 6.5 metre-tall National Emblem on top of the under-construction new Parliament building recently.
  • The State Emblem of India is the national emblem of the Republic of India and is used by the union government, many state governments, and other government agencies.


  • The State emblem is an adaptation from the Sarnath Lion Capital of Ashoka (Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh).
  • In the original, there are four lions, standing back to back, mounted on an abacus with a frieze carrying sculptures in high relief of an elephant, a galloping horse, a bull and a lion separated by intervening wheels over a bell-shaped lotus.
  • Carved out of a single block of polished sandstone, the capital is crowned by the Wheel of the Law (Dharma Chakra).

Emblem Adopted:

  • In the State emblem, adopted by the Government of India on 26th January 1950, only three lions are visible, the fourth being hidden from view.
  • The wheel appears in relief in the centre of the abacus with a bull on right and a horse on left and the outlines of other wheels on extreme right and left.
  • The bell-shaped lotus has been omitted.

Salient Features Of The National Emblem Of India

The State emblem of India is the official seal of the Government of India.

Four animals are shown representing four directions:

  1. A Galloping Horse: West
  2. An Elephant: East
  3. A Bull: South
  4. A Lion: North
  • The words Satyameva Jayate from Mundaka Upanishad, meaning ‘Truth Alone Triumphs’, are inscribed below the abacus in Devanagari Script.
  • The Capital is crowned by the Wheel of the Law (Dharma Chakra)
  • The four Lions symbolise Buddha spreading Dharma in all directions.
  • It was built in the commemoration of the first sermon by Buddha known as Dharmachakrapravartna.

Legal Provisions:

  • State Emblem of India (Prohibition of Improper Use) Act 2005 and the State Emblem of India (Regulation of Use) Rules 2007:
  • According to these rules, the National Emblem of India can only be used as per provisions of the State Emblem of India (Prohibition of Improper Use) Act 2005 and any unauthorized use is punishable under law.
  • There is a punishment for imprisonment of up to 2 years or a fine up to Rs 2000 if someone violates the law.


About sree nivas

Check Also


The country has 18 percent of the world’s population, but only 4 percent of its …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Free Updates to Crack the Exam!
Subscribe to our Newsletter for free daily updates