• The 7th ASEAN-India Ministerial Meeting (AIMMAF) on Agriculture and Forestry was held virtually today.
  • Union Minister Shri Narendra Singh Tomar, in his opening remarks during the meeting, reiterated Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi’s vision of keeping ASEAN at the center of India’s Act East Policy
  • He also emphasised on  mutually close regional cooperation with ASEAN to ensure sustainable and inclusive growth for agricultural development in the region.
  • Referring to the importance of millet (nutritional-cereals) as a nutritious food and the international nutritional-cereal year 2023, Shri Tomar urged the ASEAN member countries to support the efforts of India in increasing the production, processing, value addition and consumption of millets.
  • Shri Tomar said that India will promote nutritious cereal products for the health and nutrition of the people.
  • Nutritious cereals help in the creation of nutritious, with low resource requirement and more efficient agri-food systems.
  • In the meeting, the progress in implementation of various programs and activities under the Medium Term Action Plan of ASEAN-India Cooperation (Year 2021-2025) was reviewed. The meeting also welcomed the 30th anniversary of ASEAN-India relations.
  • In the meeting, the commitment to ASEAN-India cooperation in agriculture and forestry was reaffirmed.
  • It was said in the meeting that in order to mitigate the unprecedented impact of the COVID-19 pandemic by ensuring a seamless flow of safe and nutritious agricultural products to ASEAN and India,
  • It is necessary to take continuous measures under ASEAN-India cooperation for the implementation of post-pandemic recovery.
  • Union Minister Shri Tomar committed to enhance India’s cooperation with ASEAN in food security, nutrition, climate change adaptation, digital farming, nature-friendly agriculture, food processing, value chain, agricultural marketing and capacity building.


The Association of Southeast Asian Nations is a regional organization which was established to promote political and social stability amid rising tensions among the Asia-Pacific’s post-colonial states.

  1. The motto of ASEAN is “One Vision, One Identity, One Community”.
  2. 8th August is observed as ASEAN Day.
  3. ASEAN Secretariat – Indonesia, Jakarta.

Recent Developments

  • The 24th ASEAN-India Senior Official’s Meeting (SOM) was hosted in Delhi.
  • India and ASEAN celebrated the 30th anniversary of their Dialogue Relations.
  • In the 2nd ASEAN Digital Ministers’ (ADGMIN) Meeting with India, the two sides finalized India-ASEAN Digital work plan 2022 for future collaboration in the field.

Who are the Member Nations?

  1. Indonesia
  2. Malaysia
  3. Philippines
  4. Singapore
  5. Thailand
  6. Brunei
  7. Vietnam
  8. Laos
  9. Myanmar
  10. Cambodia

Genesis of ASEAN

  1. 1967 – ASEAN was established with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by its founding fathers.
  2. Founding Fathers of ASEAN are: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.
  3. 1990s – Membership doubled after the changing conditions in the region following the end of the Vietnam War in 1975 and the Cold War in 1991.
  4. Addition of Brunei (1984), Vietnam (1995), Laos and Myanmar (1997), and Cambodia (1999).
  5. 1995 – Members signed a deal to create a nuclear-free zone in Southeast Asia.
  6. 1997 – Adoption of ASEAN Vision 2020.
  7. 2003 – Bali Concord II for the establishment of an ASEAN Community.
  8. 2007 – Cebu Declaration, to accelerate the establishment of ASEAN Community by 2015.
  9. 2008 – ASEAN Charter comes into force and becomes a legally binding agreement.
  10. 2015 – Launch of ASEAN Community.

ASEAN Community is comprised of three pillars:

  1. ASEAN Political-Security Community
  2. ASEAN Economic Community
  3. ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community

Objectives of ASEAN

  1. To accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development for a prosperous and peaceful community of Southeast Asian Nations.
  2. To promote regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter.
  3. To promote active collaboration and mutual assistance on matters of common interest in the economic, social, cultural, technical, scientific and administrative fields.
  4. To collaborate more effectively for the greater utilisation of agriculture and industries, the expansion of their trade, the improvement of transportation and communications facilities and the raising of the living standards of peoples.
  5. To promote Southeast Asian studies.
  6. To maintain close and beneficial cooperation with existing international and regional organisations.


About sree nivas

Check Also


The country has 18 percent of the world’s population, but only 4 percent of its …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get Free Updates to Crack the Exam!
Subscribe to our Newsletter for free daily updates